Everyone is invited to join the group for the year, or any part of the year, as your time and interest permit.  Our discussions are always informal and often lively! All meetings will be on the 4th Monday of the month, at 7:00 p.m., via Zoom:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89261941109?pwd=bU9zb0JFNnA4WlZkOTJjWE9NYjBNQT09

Meeting ID: 892 6194 1109
Passcode: 303279
Telephone access: 312-626-6799

 

Here’s the list of 2020/2021 selections so you can get a head start: 

     November 2020: Call Your Daughter Home – Deb Spera

Featured on Oprah’s Summer Reading List
For readers of Delia Owens’ Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce Southern women in an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood.

     January 2021: The Dutch House: A Novel – Ann Patchett

Ann Patchett, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Commonwealth, delivers her most powerful novel to date: a richly moving story that explores the indelible bond between two siblings, the house of their childhood, and a past that will not let them go. The Dutch House is the story of a paradise lost, a tour de force that digs deeply into questions of inheritance, love and forgiveness, of how we want to see ourselves and of who we really are.

     February 2021: The Beekeeper of Aleppo – Christy Lefteri

Nuri is a beekeeper and Afra, his wife, is an artist. Mornings, Nuri rises early to hear the call to prayer before driving to his hives in the countryside. On weekends, Afra sells her colorful landscape paintings at the open-air market. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the hills of the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo—until the unthinkable happens. When all they love is destroyed by war, Nuri knows they have no choice except to leave their home. But escaping Syria will be no easy task……

     March 2021: Varina – Charles Frazier

In his powerful new novel, Charles Frazier returns to the time and place of Cold Mountain, vividly bringing to life the chaos and devastation of the Civil War.

        **** For ‘extra credit’ read: The Underground Railroad: A Novel – Colson Whitehead

     April 2021: Maybe you should talk to someone: a therapist, her therapist, and our lives revealed – Lori Gottlieb

One day, Lori Gottlieb is a therapist who helps patients in her Los Angeles practice. The next, a crisis causes her world to come crashing down. Enter Wendell, the quirky but seasoned therapist in whose of­fice she suddenly lands. With his balding head, cardigan, and khakis, he seems to have come straight from Therapist Central Casting. Yet he will turn out to be anything but.

     May 2021: American Dirt – by Jeanine Cummins

Lydia Quixano Pérez lives in the Mexican city of Acapulco. She runs a bookstore. She has a son, Luca, the love of her life, and a wonderful husband who is a journalist. And while there are cracks beginning to show in Acapulco because of the drug cartels, her life is, by and large, fairly comfortable.

Please mark your calendars and plan for interesting discussions!  For more information, please contact Joyce Rodos.

Previous Book Discussions:

 September 2020: The Night Watchman – Louise Erdrich

Based on the extraordinary life of National Book Award-winning author Louise Erdrich’s  grandfather who worked as a night watchman and carried the fight against Native dispossession from rural North Dakota all the way to Washington, D.C., this powerful novel explores themes of love and death with lightness and gravity and unfolds with the elegant prose, sly humor, and depth of feeling of a master craftsman.

     October 2020: Everything I Never Told You – Celeste Ng

“Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet.” So begins this exquisite novel about a Chinese American family living in 1970s small-town Ohio. Lydia is the favorite child of Marilyn and James Lee, and her parents are determined that she will fulfill the dreams they were unable to pursue. But when Lydia’s body is found in the local lake, the delicate balancing act that has been keeping the Lee family together is destroyed, tumbling them into chaos. A profoundly moving story of family, secrets, and longing.